Snowdrops, Updates, Opportunities

It’s hard to believe that it’s snowdrop time already; here is Dylan enjoying a woodland walk at Hodsock Priory in the blue yesterday.

hodsock 2016 001

As we were leaving there was an ‘incident’. These are so rare now I was caught off-guard and momentarily thrown back in time to the troubled days I used to puzzle and worry over on this blog. They feel a long time ago, in some ways, but also (literally and metaphorically) like yesterday.

As ever, I’m keeping track of Dylan’s progress by the seasons. When I made my last post, on the 100th day of his transition, we were looking forward to Christmas. With the arrival of the snowdrops I can report that Dylan continues to do well. He seems settled at his new home and to enjoy the rhythm of his days. Dylan has a key worker now and I’m enjoying watching their relationship develop and make a positive difference to Dylan’s life.

Dylan still comes home at weekends which gives us chance to continue the activities, such as walks and visits to the cinema, we both enjoy. In the last couple of weeks, however, I’ve reduced my mid-week visits – a sign of the extent to which Dylan is comfortable and increasingly happy to live his life away from me. Besides, Wednesday night is soft play or Soul Lounge – much more exciting than pizza with mooey 🙂

I haven’t yet claimed the space for myself I said I was looking forward to in my last post; I have been so busy at work, I’m afraid, the poems are still unsprung. I tell myself a little longer under the good earth will do no harm and that, like the snowdrops, they will come when they are ready.

*

This week I’m looking forward to an opportunity that has arisen as a direct consequence of my keeping this blog. I have been invited to speak at the professional conference of the National Autistic Society which takes place  1st-2nd March at the Telford International Centre. The theme this year is ‘Exploring New Thinking And Approaches’ and I’ve been asked to talk about supporting transition to adulthood in the context of someone who is ‘non-verbal’ and has learning difficulties. I’m going to use ‘scenes’ from Dylan’s journey to illustrate some of the ways in which I was able to ‘hear’ (and sometimes to ‘mishear’) his voice. My slot is on the Wednesday but I’ve managed to re-arrange my teaching so I can attend  both days; if you’re at the conference, do come and say hello.

Although I’m used to delivering presentations it will be the first time I’ve given a talk based on my experience as a mother. I’m a little nervous about my material but hopefully there will be something of interest in our ‘single story’. My main aim is to find a way of letting  Dylan ‘speak’ through me so that his voice can be heard. If I can manage that, I tell myself, it will be enough.

Here’s a link to the conference: http://www.autism.org.uk/professional2016

 

 

12 thoughts on “Snowdrops, Updates, Opportunities

  1. You will be wonderful at the conference. If your presentation is anything like your blog of Dylan’s journey, the audience will be spellbound. You are speaking about things that you are very familiar with. That is always best. Relax. 🙂

    Like

  2. I think it’s great that you’ve been asked to share your (and Dylan’s) story with others – I’m sure the audience will gain something valuable from hearing your honest and thoughtful examination of your experiences – I know I’ve certainly learnt a lot from reading your blogposts.

    Like

    • Thank you Anna! So you are still on your writing break? I took a break from reading as well as writing over the last couple of months so I’m a little out of touch with the wordpress world – at least it sounds like I haven’t missed too many of your wonderful posts 🙂 I hope all is well with you and look forward to your name in my reader again one day soon, x

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for reading and for taking the time to say hello. I love the way that parents share and learn from each other – it is, as you say, our future. My very best wishes to you and your son…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

