Day 24: Winding Things Up

winding up 003You don’t want to let it run down, he said to me on Saturday when he brought it back. It doesn’t like that. Usually I say do it once a week but yours struggles a bit. It’s the dual train mechanism you see. It has to work harder. So you need to be topping up mid-week really.

Now if I give you this key I want to see you do it. Do you think you can manage that? Left hole first. That’s the tick. Now yours is quite strong so I need to see whether you can wind it. Clockwise. That’s towards your kitchen. Go on. Keep going. No you can’t over-wind. That’s a myth. You need to take it right to the top.

You still have a way to go. Just keep going. You’ll feel it hit resistance. Good. That’s right. I needed to see you do it. Some people just don’t have the confidence to wind, you see, but you’ll be OK. Now the right hole. That’s the chime. Same thing. Clockwise. Towards your kitchen. Now you need to do this without fail on Tuesdays and Fridays.

Oh no, I said. Not Tuesdays and Fridays. I’ll do it on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

He looked at me quizzically. Well I suppose you could. But I always suggest Tuesdays and Fridays. They are the obvious days.

Well, I said, I don’t think it really matters. And Wednesdays and Saturdays will fit nicely with one of my other routines. I promise you, I will never forget. Not on Wednesdays and Saturdays.

*

So this morning I wound it up. Left hole first, then the right. All the way to the top. That should give it enough oomph to keep going until the weekend, singing the quarters and gonging the hours in its comforting, ancient voice. And tonight after work, when I go to see Dylan, I can wind me up I thought to myself: all the way to the top, so that I last until the weekend.

6 thoughts on “Day 24: Winding Things Up

    • Yes it made me smile! I guessed that as he is a clock repairer (and probably has a house full of timepieces he has been repairing for four years or longer!) he probably has a winding-up routine that has become so entrenched it feels obvious 🙂 You probably need to be a particular personality for such work…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

